Writing About Gaming

WoWScrnShot_110215_172121

My rogue at the Sunwell.

About six months ago, I started a gaming blog. At the time, I thought I wanted it to remain anonymous  – to completely go by Minnie, with a new Twitter account, a new blog, and completely dedicate that blog to gaming. Not unlike here, it has gone pretty much untouched.

Since then I’ve realized that I don’t want to separate it out anymore. I am a person that has a large range of interests. I’m someone who can (and will, on the weekends) spend a full day gaming. I am also someone who enjoys reading, and sometimes coloring, and listening to podcasts and eating delicious food and taking photographs and visiting the city and seeing friends. These things (and many more) make up what I am, and there’s no need to hide or separate out parts of who I am. Especially when I am already on a blog that doesn’t have a theme and bends to my whim.

For some reason, and this is likely for many reasons, I felt that I couldn’t attach gaming to the rest of my identity. I’ve been very interested in it for relatively few years, and it felt a bit like I was an impostor. Especially since at first I only played one game, where today I’ve branched out to several and in different genres.

I’ve wanted to write more about games, about what I think about them, about the things I discover about them (and about myself) while playing them, for a long time. But I felt like everything I noticed was something others had already and I’d just be repeating what anyone else has said.

Oddly, it’s taken me playing a game like Fallout 4 to realize that’s really not true.

ScreenShot10

My character and her dog enjoying the view of the Commonwealth Wasteland.

I wasn’t entirely sure whether I’d like Fallout 4 or not. I watched the E3 presentation announcement earlier this year with Boyfriend and it looked amazing. I was a bit intimidated by the idea of this open world where you can do anything you want, without any real structure. I’ve spent most of my time in games like WoW where you always have a direction and a structure that you follow, through quests or dungeons, or what have you. But I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in Fallout so far and have even discovered things on my own that aren’t entirely obvious but make the game even more satisfying. I won’t go into detail because I’m seriously considering writing and submitting an article about that, but I digress.

 

Either way, I’m starting to feel confident in the fact that gaming is a legitimate interest to have, and all of the facets of why it is. And either way, if it’s something that brings me joy, who’s to say that it isn’t a good thing?

Ultimately, I’m still Samantha, that reads and writes and is bookish and always trying to find new things to learn, but I’m also this gamer that her guild calls Minnie who puts those other loves to work within the games she plays. And that feeling of reconciling between the two is a great feeling.

3 thoughts on “Writing About Gaming

  1. trulyb says:

    Sam. Sam. I am being so serious right now. You need to come play D&D with Husband and I. You will love it. It is a beautiful marriage of gaming and writing. It’s this amazingly fun character creation, story creation, exploration, amalgamation of awesome.

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      No, I totally do. I have been skeptical of how I’d like it in the past because I wasn’t sure how well I’d do at the roleplaying aspect, but I think it’d be fun to try out. 😀

      Like

      • trulyb says:

        Yeah, I think that the group that you play with is really important. Your DnD crew needs to be a safe space, judgement free, so you can roleplay with abandon.

        Like

So...what do you think?

