Things I Love (Almost) Inexplicably

This topic  has been circulating the blog universe in the past few weeks, and I’ve really enjoyed reading a lot of them. Here’s my list of things I love (almost) inexplicably.

1. The feeling of sprawling on my bed after standing/running around all day.

When I’ve been sitting at my desk all day, and then sitting upright to drive home, the minute I get home it’s the best feeling to sprawl out on my bed and give my back a rest.

2. Talking theory and strategy for the games I play. Because I’m a nerd.

Seriously, if you play World of Warcraft, League of Legends, Diablo III; and you start talking about gear stats, rotations, gemming, mitigation tactics, etc., you might not get me to shut up. I read guides, try to get any character I play in any game optimized, and learn strategic methods to be the best player I can be. It’s become a problem, maybe, but I think it helps my problem-solving skills. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

3. Fuzzy. socks.

I collect fuzzy socks. When I was working retail, I bought a couple of sets, and now people have been giving them to me as gifts. Fuzzy socks cradle my feet, and they are the best for lounging around the house, or wearing under boots on a workday for a hidden, comfortable refuge.

4. Black and white photography (shooting, hanging it, and looking at it). 

Black and white film photography is some of the most breathtaking photography for me. It is so surreal and outside of the realm of real life, since we all see in color. My bedroom has almost all black and white photographs hanging around it, and it’s comforting to me.

5. Using a towel fresh out of the dryer.

One of the best things is getting out of the shower and using a towel that’s still warm from the dryer. Considering the setup of my house and my need to have a towel ready by the time I get out, it doesn’t happen often.

6. Black pearls.

Pearl is my birthstone, so growing up knowing what it was has influenced my fondness for them. I think black pearls are the most beautiful. There was a time I thought that I’d like my future wedding or engagement ring to be a small pearl. They’re unique and not so sparkly.

7. IKEA comforters.

When my mom and I were shopping to send me off to college, we went on a huge IKEA shopping trip to make sure my room in college would be like a home-away-from-home. There were quite a few of those purchases that have stayed with me since I moved out on my own after college, but the hands-down best is my duvet comforter with switchable covers. It’s soft, comfortable, not too long, and incredibly warm. I love it because it’s sufficient all year, and because of my hate for top-sheets I can keep my bed the same way all year.

8. Hoodies. Especially ones with letters, patterns, or designs that I deem ‘cool’. 

I’ve gotten better about not buying as many hoodies, especially because I mostly shouldn’t wear them to work. It doesn’t mean I don’t still have too many (and want more). I have zip-ups, pullovers, in pink, black, blue, red; and from lots of trips, organizations or schools I went to. I remember part of the reason I was excited to work at summer camp was so that I could have a hoodie with “STAFF” on the back. Sadly, they stopped doing that right when I started working there. -_- I’m pretty sure the next one I buy will be an Alliance hoodie from Jinx.

9. Shellac manicures.

This is usually a pretty special treat for me because they tend to be expensive. I love them for the convenience of not worrying about broken nails and the bonus of them looking really nice for weeks at a time. I currently have one that has looked perfect for a week now, and shows no signs of chipping. The last time I got a really good one, I moved between apartments, carrying boxes, moving furniture, etc. That includes shoving things up the steep stairs with no railings. I didn’t even chip a nail. It was a miracle.

10. Old buildings.

Something about old buildings makes my heart leap into my chest with happiness. I don’t know what it is. A sense of adventure and exploration fills me and I want to photograph or write about it immediately, or just set up camp inside and write about it while looking around its hallways and rooms. I think part of the reason I liked the East Coast so much was because there were historic buildings everywhere. Honestly, it’s really what sparked my interest in photography in the first place.

 

Now tell me, what do you love almost inexplicably?

4 thoughts on “Things I Love (Almost) Inexplicably

  1. lucysfootball says:

    Ooh, I love this. I so want to do one of these posts now!

    I’m with you on the old buildings. And the socks! I have so many socks and I can’t even stop myself from buying more. Socks are totally my weakness!

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      I know! I’ve seen ones that are “Things I Irrationally Love” and some other titles as well. 🙂

      I’m not as “must have” about socks as I am about hoodies, mostly because I’m more picky about how soft they need to be. 😛 I’m totally wearing a pair today in my rainboots that’s fuzzy and has sticky things on the bottom to prevent slipping. I’m kind of overly excited about these socks today. (Fuzzy sweaters are amazing, too.)

      Like

  2. Amber via A Mused Blog says:

    Oh what a wonderful post idea! I also love black pearls. I purchased my first pair from a jewelry in Calistoga. And I’d say a favorite thing of mine would be warm toes under the sheets – and getting my toes warm always seems to take a while!

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      I don’t have any black pearls yet, but every time I see them in a store window I stand there and admire them for awhile 😛

      It’s funny, my favorite part of snuggling in a blanket is having it around my shoulders. A lot of times, I end up with my feet in and out of the blanket all night and my toes warming takes awhile, too! 😛

      I loved reading a lot of the other ones from bloggers I follow. It’s such a window into a person’s brain. 🙂

      Like

So...what do you think?

