Reading Comics When I Can’t Brain

For most of my life, I’ve stuck to reading novels to feed my reading itch. More recently, blogs have been added to that as well. When I was in high school, a friend of mine lent me some of her manga that I enjoyed reading (even though I was a little “whoa” at reading them ‘backwards’, but it was cool!), and I’ve dabbled in online comics, but I haven’t read them regularly in a long time.

I’ve been watching YouTube a lot more than usual, mostly for World of Warcraft lore videos (yes, I am a nerd). A lot of them take images from the WoW comics to illustrate the story. I then remembered that there are actually other comics I want to read, and I’ve suddenly gotten the urge to start reading them all at once.

The Dark Tower Comics

Oh, Roland. πŸ™‚

I just read the Dark Tower series from beginning to end last summer, and I’ve already been pining to return to its pages. What better way to return to the world than through the comics? The story is well done, although obviously not as richly detailed as the books are. My favorite part so far has been seeing more of Cuthbert and Alain, characters we only get to see during one novel in the series. They made me laugh out loud more than once. I’m up to The Journey Begins, which covers some of the events of The Gunslinger. At this rate, I may have to read The Dark Tower series again before the year is out.

Warcraft: Sunwell Trilogy

I liked getting to know the story behind Kalecgos better.

I finished reading these last week. The author of these comics is Richard Knaak, who also writes some of the Warcraft novels, and he’s definitely not my favorite of the Warcraft authors. However, his writing comes off better in the comics, except for Kalec and Anveena constantly going “C-can” or other stuttering that doesn’t make any sense in the context. The art was gorgeous, and gave me a better perspective of characters you don’t see in the game. Of course, I had to go and solo Sunwell Plateau immediately after finishing these, which sadly completes Anveena’s story forever. Even if you’re not into the Warcraft games, the universe is pretty cool, and I enjoy reading them for the stories themselves.

World of Warcraft comics

Valeera is KIND of awesome. I may be biased because she’s a blood elf and a rogue.

Nobbel87 on YouTube has a lore video about Valeera Sanguinar, a friend of Broll Bearmantle and King Varian Wrynn, on his channel. I knew that Varian had been a gladiator when his consciousness was split in two, but didn’t really know that he had made lifelong friends in the process. Of course, this series about these three characters is just one of the many stories in the Warcraft series, but it’s where I’ve started. I haven’t finished these yet, but Valeera’s story is compelling, her loyalty, her courage, and her strength to overcome anything thrown at her makes her a great character to read about. Plus, seeing a side of Varian where he’s accepted someone for their character rather than what race or faction they belong to is great as well.

The Sandman series

I’m excited to read these!

In case you haven’t heard yet, Insatiable Booksluts is hosting a readalong of The Sandman series by Neil Gaiman. Sadly, I still haven’t gotten around to reading any of Neil Gaiman’s work, so having the excuse to start with a comic series is pretty cool. I’ve heard rave reviews about it for a long time, and so am excited to start reading. For more information on the readalong, here’s the introduction post, or you can click the button on my sidebar.Β 

Do you like reading comics? Have any to recommend to me? Let me know in the comments!

11 thoughts on “Reading Comics When I Can’t Brain

  1. Charleen says:

    I’ve never read any comics or graphic novels; that format has just never appealed to me. But it seems like there are a lot of great stories that are (unfortunately for me) only available in that format… so we’ll see. I’m not doing the IB read-along since I’m really not a fan of Gaiman (I know, blasphemy), but I’ve been eyeing Joe Hill’s Locke & Key series.

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      The only thing I’ve read that’s *technically* Gaiman is Good Omens, which is a collaboration between him and Terry Pratchett. I’ve never been one to seek out fantasy/science fiction novels (except lately with Warcraft, because lore nerd apparently :P) but I’m willing to try out the Sandman comics, since I do like comics in general. I think I’d probably want to try Joe Hill’s Locke and Key series, because Joe Hill impressed me with NOS4A2. I was like yup, I’m probably going to be reading a lot more of your writing.

      Like

  2. benrowef64 says:

    There are so many comics that have such great stories in them, I have read the Walking Dead, V for Vendetta and From hell. I also read the Darktower series last year, I have the comics but haven’t got round to reading them as I needed a break but I heard there is so much lore and background info in the comics.

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      The Dark Tower comics are making me want to read the books again, even though I just read them for the first time last summer. That story is lifechanging.

      I think I’d like reading V for Vendetta comics.

      Like

      • Jennie Saia says:

        Imagine Romeo and Juliet type star-crossed lovers, but set during an interplanetary war. The couple is made of two former soldiers from opposing armies who have run away together and since had a child. They have the most fantastic adventures, and she’s s total bad-ass. He’s the more sensitive one, and they’re both just marvelously good parents. Meanwhile, they are being pursued by a violent prince, two assassins-for-hire, and they live in a rocket ship made from a tree…

        Have I sold you yet?

        Like

    • Samantha says:

      I like them a lot, especially since the visual art is well, nicer than the in game art currently. πŸ˜› Plus, the correlation with the game sometimes spurs me to do random old school stuff by myself. Possibly. πŸ˜› Sunwell Plateau was more challenging than I expected too, because there are still abilities that even some of the trash mobs have that can kill a geared 90.

      Like

So...what do you think?

