#ShineAlong Kick-Off: A Great Excuse to Read a Favorite

Charleen at Cheap Thrills and Tif from Tif Talks Books are hosting the #ShineAlong from September 2 – September 23 in anticipation of release of Doctor Sleep, the sequel to The Shining. I’m very excited to be participating and have already started reading. Here’s the answers to the questions posed by the hosts to start the discussion!

Will this be a re-read or a first-time read for you?

This is my first re-read of The Shining.

Have you seen the movie(s)?

I have seen the Stanley Kubrick version, but not the miniseries.

What are your thoughts from previous reads/watches? (Or, if you haven’t read or watched any of the above, what do you anticipate for your first experience with The Shining?)

I absolutely loved my first read, and The Shining became one of my favorite books. I’ve always enjoyed the movie on its own merit, but it is almost nothing like the book and doesn’t have any of the same depth the book does (which is hard to do anyway with a two-hour movie).  I’m so excited and glad to be reading it again, and am noticing things now that I didn’t the first time since now I know what will happen later, there is SO much foreshadowing. It’s quite thrilling to be reading it again.  Although the first time I read it was in college, I already feel that it’s a different reading for me now than it was five or six years ago.

And finally, why are you joining in on the #shinealong? Is there anything specific you’d like to get out of the read-along?

I am mostly reading along for the sake of reading along with others, plus it’s a great excuse to reread a favorite of mine. I think it’ll be great to have reread the book before reading Doctor Sleep as well, because there will be details sticking in my brain that might not have otherwise been there. I’m excited to share favorite quotes and discuss with others as well.

If you’re interested in joining the read-along, take a peek at the reading schedule below, answer the questions above on your own blog (or in the comments!), and head over to Tif Talks Books to link up. (Also follow that link for information about the #SleepAlong once Doctor Sleep releases.)

  • Monday, September 9: Discussion for Chapters 1-16
  • Monday, September 16: Discussion for Chapters 17-33
  • Monday, September 23: Discussion for Chapters 34-58 (epilogue)

I am really excited about this read-along. And I have Doctor Sleep pre-ordered on my Kindle, so it should sail in the morning of September 24, on time for me to dive right in.

 

6 thoughts on “#ShineAlong Kick-Off: A Great Excuse to Read a Favorite

  1. Charleen says:

    I’m enjoying it a lot more this time around, even though I only read it a year ago. It’s funny to think how my appreciation of Stephen King has grown just in that short time.

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      It’s pretty cool 🙂 I think I am understanding some things better even now because I’m older, and have more experiences. The chapter where Wendy is reflecting on the arc of their marriage was just heartbreaking this time, when last time I wasn’t in a relationship (much less a serious one) and didn’t really understand it the same way I do now. I am going to have to slow down, I think I’m already to chapter 13 or so. 😛

      Like

  2. tiftalksbooks says:

    Welcome to the #shinealong!!!! I was thinking the exact same thing about the foreshadowing! Holy cow! I never picked up on that the first time around either, but now it seems like it is so obvious!!

    I’m trying to read slow, but it is so hard! I simply don’t want to put my book down … but, I am reluctantly!! 🙂

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      Your comment probably got dumped in the moderation queue 🙂

      Thank you! It’s funny how hindsight’s 20/20. It’s kind of making it more enjoyable this time around. And the first time I read it I went proclaiming to everyone to READ the book instead of watch the movie first :p

      Like

So...what do you think?

