Weekly Writing Challenge: Tech is the Enemy?

I’ve told you about my iPhone before. About my undying love for it, I mean.

Some studies and observations have shown that technology (and smartphones, especially) are ruining our lives, our connections, our relationships.

I’m here to disagree with that.

Sure, it’s infinitely annoying when you’re trying to have a conversation with someone and their eyes are consistently sliding toward the little white screen in their hand. I’ve been guilty of being the person with the screen, as my smartphone-less, Facebook-less boyfriend will attest to.  But most of the time, I try to keep it at an arms-length when we’re spending time together, even turning it over so I can’t see the screen at all while at dinner or while hanging out and talking, etc.

But, I believe that technology and the smartphone is helping introverts like me.

If you know me, I’m a pretty quiet person in general, but I do get less quiet the more you get to know me. I don’t speak unless I have something to say, and sometimes even then I restrain myself if I deem it unimportant to the topic at hand.

But, on the Internet? I blog on a regular basis. I tweet articles I’ve read, other people’s quotes I like, and interact as much as I can. I also play MMOs that allow me to talk to people in a minimal pressure environment, either instant-messaging in-game or over push-to-talk voice chat programs. As I’ve mentioned before, I have an amazing guild of people I talk to on a regular basis, and some I’ve even met in person (which it’s basically like hanging out with any other person, except it happens to be the first time you’ve met them).

However, there is a time where the technology needs to take the back burner and when you’re around friends, family, and other people you care about, it’s best to put the phone away. And that’s exactly what I try to do.

The point is, it’s a balance. No, technology isn’t ruining us. How can we blame a faceless, intangible entity on ruining our lives? The only people who can make our choices for us is ourselves, and if we are pushing ourselves toward this addictive tendency for technology, then we are the only ones who can change that for the better.

When I’m away from those I love, it helps me keep in touch with them. When I’m actually with them in person, the phone goes away. As simple as that.

This post was written in response to the Daily Post’s Weekly Writing Challenge on WordPress.com. If you’d like to submit your own post, please find the prompt here. 

6 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Tech is the Enemy?

  1. Heather says:

    Technology can be a blessing or a curse–there’s no “one situation fits all” in this case. I have a love/hate relationship with tech toys for that very reason. Great post.

    Like

  2. girlseule says:

    Having moved around a lot technology has definitely helped me stay in touch with people which is wonderful. But yeah have had plenty of afternoons out with friends at the pub, everyone with their eyes down looking at their smart phones.

    Like

  3. Comfortably Numb says:

    I agree 🙂 without my technology I would be totally isolated where I am now. I moved away from everyone and everything I know last september and I honestly don’t think I would have done it if I didn’t have my phone/internet and the relating social media sites. In fact when we did move in I didn’t have the internet OR TV for the first few months. It was nice to know that I COULD survive without being online but I still had the option of a phonecall however that’s not always doable at 11pm…
    Without my internet I would have no blog, I would have no outlet for my thoughts, I would have no support in my current situation and I genuinely believe that without that…theres a good chance I would be rocking in a corner by now.
    Great post xB

    Like

  4. ambersmouthwashAmber says:

    I think technology is fascinating. It creates a moral dilemma in that it is evolving so quickly, and at such breakneck speed that we as a society to do not have time to adjust ourselves, or our morals to it. Technology reaches so much farther than our smartphones, common internet use, or the latest “i” gadget. It also builds drones, war machines, and imbeds itself in our lives on so many intrinsic levels. It’s amazing.

    Technology has changed the way we interact with people on a daily basis. I think it has both made us “faceless” and also given us a new one. Technology is fascinating because it literally allows us to watch the evolution of ourselves without it actually “being” us.

    Great post!!

    Like

So...what do you think?

