The Wonders of Friendship

It absolutely amazes me what friendship can transcend. It amazes me that I can meet people that I’ve never met face to face, but have talked to more or less every day for two years over voice chat and in guild chat, and when you finally meet them, it feels like you’ve known them forever.

It’s because you have.

Meeting face-to-face just makes it better.

There may be worries of “What if it’s not the same? What if they don’t like me in person?”

Then all those worries disappear.

Has anyone told you that friends can only be made face-to-face? They’re wrong.

8 thoughts on “The Wonders of Friendship

  1. Charleen says:

    I’ve never had the pleasure of meeting anyone face-to-face that I’d originally met online. Usually I don’t mind, because I’m so awkward in real life I’d probably just ruin it. But then I read stories of others’ meetings and feel like I’m missing out.

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      I think if they already know you from talking to you online, you couldn’t possibly ruin it. πŸ™‚ I am pretty shy, a little better than I used to be, but still am, and was amazed at how it didn’t really seem like there was that awkward “first time meeting” because I already knew them, albeit not in person. But that’s just me. *shrugs* πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. lucysfootball says:

    You’re completely right. Sure, there’s the chance it’ll be scary and awkward and terrible – but you’ve known the person for a long time, you’ve probably (if you’re anything like me) talked to them until you’ve almost worn the letters off your keyboard, and you know them. And they know you. Meeting them face-to-face at that point is almost incidental. Almost, but not quite. Because meeting them face-to-face has a certain magic to it that is just indescribable, isn’t it?

    I think someday the “OMG YOU ARE ONLINE FRIENDS WITH SOMEONE? THAT ISN’T REAL!” will disappear, because we’ll all be meeting each other online, won’t we?

    And in the meantime, I’m happy with the people who live in my computer that sometimes I get to meet with my face and give huge hugs to.

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      I love the phrase “meet with my face”, by the way. πŸ˜€ But it’s so true! I think I’m going to meet a few more guildies next month and I am super excited. It’s just a great feeling. The internet brings everyone so much closer, but it makes you wish everyone lived in the same place, sorta. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • lucysfootball says:

        That is the one drawback – once you meet them, you wish you could see them ALL THE TIME. I miss Andreas like crazy now. (I wouldn’t trade meeting him in person for anything, though. It was one of the best memories of my whole life.)

        Like

    • Samantha says:

      Of course, but I feel that the some of the same priniciples and instincts can still be exercised online. People I am uncomfortable with have been met both on and offline.

      Like

So...what do you think?

