The Gauntlet Update Week 1: Growing Pains

Week 1 of the Gauntlet is complete.

For anyone new to my blog (hello new followers! I’m very happy you’re here!), I have embarked on a 30-Day Challenge sponsored by The Jackie Blog, where I’ve pledged to do yoga every day for 30 days in a row (in my case, the entire month of April).

It’s been a rough start. It’s amazing how unaware you can be of how pitifully un-athletic/weak/out of shape/un-fit you are until you attempt doing some form of physical exercise several days in a row. Especially when you normally never do.

I started out the first day waking up in the morning to do my yoga, and doing the “A.M. yoga” section of my DVD. It’s very gentle yoga, it starts you out lying on your back and you work up to standing, which transitions you from sleep to waking. Technically, for the best results I could do it in my bed in the morning, but my T.V. is in the other room with my yoga mat. It’s indeed pretty gentle, most of it was pretty easy for me, considering I’m naturally fairly flexible. (Let’s just say the one time I went to physical therapy to find out why I have a bum knee, the therapist couldn’t figure out what was wrong with it. ‘It’s usually strength or flexibility, but you have enough strength, and you’re like Gumby in flexibility. I don’t know what’s wrong.‘)

The second day I got ambitious and since I hadn’t done my yoga in the morning, I did it in the evening, thinking I’d try out the daily yoga. I went about five minutes before completely burning out, and went back to the a.m. yoga section of the DVD a little disappointed in myself.

I’ve been doing the a.m. yoga section every day since that first try at the Daily, and finally decided last night while waiting for software to download on my computer that I was going to try the Daily Yoga section again, just to see how far I could get.

My second try at it was a lot more successful. I felt strength and flexibility I hadn’t realized I had been developing over the past week. I still burned out, but it took about five minutes longer than it had the first time, and the first section went a lot smoother and fluidly than it had previously. I am amazed at my progress, and proud to say the least.

I’m already seeing a difference in my energy level, how I feel during the day, my tiredness level when I’m supposed to be, and even my mood levels seem to have gotten a bit better so far.

This week, I am planning on attending a yoga class with one of my coworkers to mix up the variety (and possibly embarrass myself all over again, whatever works). I am going to do the Daily Yoga section of my DVD if I don’t wake up in the morning to do yoga (which is more likely than not, honestly). 6:30 a.m. comes very early, and when I’ve already showered the night before, I’d rather sleep a little longer and do the yoga in the evening for the most part. Plus, the Daily Yoga section is probably a better goal to reach for, since the a.m. yoga is beginning to be very easy for me already.

Week 2 of The Gauntlet begins! Make sure to follow along on Twitter with the hashtag #thegauntlet, where you can follow me and the other 30-Day challengers.

6 thoughts on “The Gauntlet Update Week 1: Growing Pains

    • Samantha says:

      I don’t particularly like to exercise…wait, let me rephrase that. I’m simply not terribly athletic. 😛 Yoga, swimming, and sometimes tennis and basketball are at the top of my list for what I like to do for exercise. Yoga was the easiest to do at home, as well as relax my mind 🙂 What do you normally like doing for exercise?

      Like

  1. trendyhammer says:

    Hi Sam, My name is Kev, & I am a new Follower of your Blog. :).

    I am a Wheelchair User myself, so the only aspect of it that I could indulge in is the Meditation, I should think?.

    I wish you The Best Of Luck with it anyway. ;).

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      Thank you! I think there are aspects of it you could participate in. Plus it tends to focus a lot on breathing techniques which in a short time has improved surprisingly, my singing endurance. O_o Thanks for visiting my blog, sorry it’s taken me so long to respond to your comment XD

      Like

So...what do you think?

