NPR Asked 6 Questions About Music

I was reading my regular dose of Lucy’s Football, and she answered six questions from NPR about music. I am agreeing with her that I think these will be hard to answer, but here goes.

Here are the six questions:

  1. What was the first song you ever bought?
  2. What song always gets you dancing?
  3. What song takes you back to your childhood?
  4. What is your perfect love song?
  5. What song would you want at your funeral?
  6. Time for an encore. One last song that makes you, you.

Drumroll please…

1. What was the first song you ever bought?

I’m pretty sure the first album I bought myself was Linkin Park’s Hybrid Theory. One of my friends from school had let me borrow her copy of Meteora, and it was my first exposure to actually enjoying rock-type music, especially hard-er rock. (I know I’m not describing genres accurately, but bear with me). It began the journey of the multitude of songs that I listen to now, that are mostly not any newer than 5-10 years old and lead to nostalgic statements of “those were the days”.

2. What song always gets you dancing?

There are a LOT of songs that get me dancing (especially in the car, other drivers probably wonder what’s wrong with me), but for the sake of the questions, I’ll just choose one that’s been incessantly getting me dancing since Josh introduced me to it: “Moves Like Jagger” from Maroon 5’s Hands All Over. Plus, Christina Aguilera does guest vocals and that’s pretty swell too.

3. What song takes you back to your childhood?

En Vogue’s Funky Divas was a staple when I was little, but the song that stands out to me the most is “Free Your Mind”. For one thing it has a great hard guitar background and the lyrics are nearly screamed, which makes sense with what the song is talking about, which basically says, “Don’t judge me.” Most of the song tends to talk about race, and I think I related to it on a subliminal level even at that age, in the idea of being judged for my skin color and what I looked like rather than how I actually was (which has actually happened to me a lot in my lifetime, although rarely in a malicious manner). It’s a song to play air guitar to and belt out at the top of your lungs. I remember having this album on the bus once in high school and someone listened to the song I was listening to at the moment. “Sounds like knockoff ’80s music,” they said with a sniff.

Maybe that’s because it actually IS from the ’80s, but whatever…

4. What is your perfect love song?

“Three Days Later” from FM Static’s What Are You Waiting For? is definitely my perfect love song. I adore FM Static’s others, as well as a multitude of other ones, but this one is adorable, and carefree, and punk-y and happy and it makes me smile every time it comes up on shuffle. “One, she makes me feel not Two much like anything that’s Three times more than I’ve ever felt before and One a.m. and I’m two sucked in cause it’s three days later and I can’t stop thinking about you”. Not to mention that it is a song that is directly connected to my boyfriend, which helps its place in my heart as well.

5. What song would you want at your funeral?

I don’t normally think about things as morbid as this, but it actually just hit me what song I would want for this. It’s another FM Static song, “Tonight” from Critically Ashamed. It’s quite a sad song, but it is looking positively toward the future, and the possibility that we’ll all see our loved ones again, which is something positive to think about.

Tonight I’ve fallen and I can’t get up

I need your loving hands to come and pick me up

And every night I miss you, I can just look up

And know the stars are holding you, holding you, holding you

Tonight

6. One song that makes you, you.

How does one even answer this question?? It only seems appropriate to pick one that is from my favorite band (of all time), and as I went searching through the stacks of memorized lyrics in my brain, I discovered “My Heart is the Worst Kind of Weapon,” which you can find on the extended version of From Under the Cork Tree and acoustic on My Heart is the B-Side to my Tongue. The lyrics are incredibly evocative, and the implication of the title is enough to describe my personality and the care I take for people. And the song is sung by my favorite band, what’s not to like?

Enjoy!

One thought on “NPR Asked 6 Questions About Music

So...what do you think?

