Ending of NaNoWriMo, And some New Beginnings.

NaNoWriMo ended about two weeks ago, on November 30.

I didn’t manage to write any more words. I finished at 38,000 and took an extensive break from even opening my rather large Word document that contained my story. I finished Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking, I picked up on a book that had been languishing on my Goodreads shelf 50% completed, then began rereading a book at night to quiet my mind.

I started working full-time last week, which in reality is actually more than full time. I go in to work at 7:30 a.m., leave at 4:00 p.m. for my second job, then leave around 5:30 to 6:00 p.m. to go home. Then I also found an apartment that was within my budget and sizable.

So I moved this weekend, finishing all of the “packing”, moving, and cleaning in two days. I sincerely apologize to Josh for snapping several times out of pure stress and frustration, and an eminent lack of patience that I am fully aware of having, although he did a lot of the moving heavy things, and trying to get things set up for me even when I was getting frustrated at word phrasing, and other little things that normally would have passed by without a second thought. I’m trying to get more sleep and stress less.

Now I am thinking of when to revisit my novel. It needs more writing, it needs editing, and it needs formatting. I have my copyediting class coming up in January, which I received the syllabus and book for yesterday, so that I can begin planning for my class. I still need to work out my schedule for my second job while I’m teaching, but since it’s rather flexible, it’s not too much of a concern currently.

Although I leave home very early in the morning (when it’s dark) and don’t return until it’s dark, and have at the most about 3 hours to spend with Josh, raiding, reading, writing, or any of the other things that I enjoy doing in my free time, I am not necessarily not enjoying myself. I feel that I learn more all the time about both jobs, and meet new people, and hone my professional and written skills even more every day.

Stay tuned for more updates, as I keep pushing toward that “success” goal. I’m still not entirely sure how that is defined, but life tends to throw you curve balls. I didn’t expect to be where I’m at right now, but I’m enjoying it in spite of it not being in my plans. All I can do is run with the flow and find out what else is in store.

One thought on “Ending of NaNoWriMo, And some New Beginnings.

So...what do you think?

