NaNoWriMo Update #3: Juggling Act

Here it is, the final week of NaNoWriMo. Within the past couple of weeks, I have fallen a good amount behind on my word count. I am currently at 38,282 words: which is enough to possibly catch up within three days, but with work, keeping up has become somewhat of a juggling act, and inherently stressful. I get home at 4:30, attempt to write as much as possible within the next five hours or so, and then go to bed and do it all over again. Plus, in the last week, I got a bit of a stomach bug, which meant that the day I was saving to catch up on writing (last Tuesday) ended up with me feeling so sick I didn’t feel like doing anything, much less writing upwards of 3,000 words in one night. I’m still recovering from that one, it lasted through Thanksgiving and is just enough to make me feel extremely tired every day, but not sick enough to stay home from work. This past Sunday, I managed to painfully produce 5,151 words in one day, but it was hard. It was really hard.

I think this is the part of writing that I never learned to expect growing up. When I was younger, I wrote stories all the time, but I never managed to finish them. I’d get bored, or run out of steam, and they’d stop, even if they were longer than even the novel I’m writing now. To take on this type of challenge and feel the pain is really what makes it a challenge, and a juggling act, and a stressor for an entire month.

This month, I’ve also had a lot of things thrown at me. They were good things, there’s no doubt about it, but they still came at a time when I would have liked to just crawl in bed and stay there for a while. First, I was asked to teach a class at my alma mater next quarter, which I was pleased, flattered, and excited about, among other emotions. There was also the fact that I was offered full-time at my main job, which I will be starting next week. I am very excited about this, because this means I will have more income, and hopefully find an apartment that I will be happy to come back to at the end of the day, and relax. All these things bouncing around in my head, as well as the holidays, normal stress factors, and adding my novel on top of it all has made this month seem to go on forever, but go quickly at the same time.

I am going to continue trying to write more in the next three days before the end of November. Will I be at 50,000? I kind of doubt it. Will I have accomplished something crazy? Most definitely. Seeing that I could take on something like this, and with the amount of responsibilities I am taking on in the near future, makes me feel even more confident in the fact that I can write, no matter what I’m doing, or what job I’m working, or what place I’m in. I can do this, if I want to, and if I really, really put my all into it.

I’ll see you all at whatever ends up being my finish line. I wish all of you who are still trucking on NaNoWriMo the best luck and all the ideas. (ALL OF THEM.) We’ve done something crazy and great here. Bring it, November 30.

So...what do you think?

