NaNoWriMo Update #1

I didn’t think I’d be writing anything other than my novel this month, but my word counts are going faster this year so far. *knocks on wood so as not to disrupt my luck*

Last year, the reason I dropped off the map at 22,716 words was because of work. This year I decided to prevail despite work. However, I think I underestimated the difference between where I was working then and where I’m working now.

Then, I was working erratic hours, sometimes working late at night, other times early in the morning. Black Friday is in November.

This year, I’m working a normal schedule. Monday, Tuesday, Thursday I am at work by 8:00 a.m., Wednesday and Friday at 10:00 a.m. Both days I’m usually awake by 7:00. And I’m usually in bed by 10:30 to 11:00 p.m. (Which is drastically different from being awake until 2:00 to 3:00 a.m. because your sleep schedule is nonexistent).

NaNoWriMo started Thursday, and I was able to make my word count Thursday and Friday, then met or exceeded it over the weekend. Yesterday was the first day I didn’t write the full 1667, but was still over par for the day. I know it’s only day 8, but I’m feeling pretty confident and I want to win with this novel, to edit it, to have it proofread, to have a cover created for it, to publish it. I think it is an interesting idea, and already I’m seeing that there are plot holes that need to be filled, but I’m not exceedingly worried about it right now. I need to create the framework and then the drafting begins that makes it into an actual novel.

It’s exciting to think that if I just push through and finish this, that my dream to have an actual novel could be realized.

Stay tuned for another update soon, I hope. Good luck to all you WriMos!

 

P.S. If you’d like to keep up with my NaNoWriMo progress, there is a widget at the bottom my blog page with my word count that I update obsessively. It also has a link to my nanowrimo.org profile.

So...what do you think?

