Dodging Bullets Left and Right.

It is apparent that I have been blessed and lucky in my lifetime, in more ways than I can count. But in recent times it has been clearer during my search for a job.

I’ve already documented a lot of the jobs that I’ve applied for in this blog. Sometimes, months or up to a year from the time that I applied for them, something has happened that has made me think, “Wow. I kind of dodged a bullet there.”

The first one was during my senior year, when I got the opportunity to work for Cheers! St. Helena for an internship that would span between May-October. At the time, the organization was privately owned, and my friend from college was the director. She offered me the opportunity: I’d be her assistant, helping with public relations duties and maintaining communication and relationships between the vendors who donated their time/money/venues to Cheers. I was very excited about it, and came in on what I thought would be my first day, armed with my laptop and found a neat little desk space next to hers. Pumped and ready to learn all I could, I was very excited. What happened next was completely unexpected.

We were both called into the owner’s office, where he proceeded to look over my resume and ask me questions. However, these were questions I wasn’t expecting. Had I run a public relations campaign before? Did I have experience? What was I doing at my current internship? All questions that were warranted, however, I was expecting this to be an internship position where I would be learning how to do all of these things under my friend’s guidance. I was mostly unprepared and at the time a lot less confident after being confronted than I might be now. By the end of the “interview”, it was mostly understood that I would not be continuing with the organization. My friend apologized to me several times, since she had no idea that was going to happen, and I left dejectedly.

Later on that year, my friend relinquished her position and left the organization. Shortly afterward, the city of Saint Helena took it over, and it is now run by the Chamber of Commerce. I was glad that I had not been working for them in the midst of this, and been at risk of losing my job, going through a huge transition, and the other things that come with changing owners.

I applied for a blogging position for the start-up Chatterfly’s blog. Use the app, do a write-up, post it online. As you can read here, someone from Chatterfly contacted me directly, then never actually got back to me on how I would be able to fill the position. After not hearing back, getting the run-around, then finding out they’d hired someone else, I shrugged and said, “Oh well.” Just a couple of days ago, I received an email from Chatterfly notifying me that the start-up was shutting down, and to check out the new start-up beginning by Chatterfly’s founder.

But that’s not all. Read here and here about my recommendation to St. Helena Hospital for a marketing position, my interview process, and the result being that the position was not filled at all. I was pretty disappointed about this one, because the job had sounded like something I would have enjoyed, with my journalistic/writing background with the doses of public relations and marketing I’d been exposed to at the time. Later, however, my roommate from college, who works there in the Human Resources department, told me that soon after I applied for that job, there were a lot of layoffs throughout the hospital because of the economy. I felt that it was better for me not to get the job (and in the way that I didn’t) rather than get it and then soon be laid off, especially if I had moved back to the Valley and signed a lease on an apartment, changed my address, among other things.

Finally, there was the Academy of Art in San Francisco. You can read here about my leap to action in order to try to get hired there, and then the crushing disappointment that followed. This summer, my mom called to my attention that the university was being sued. I looked up the news articles online and found that they were being sued for raising and lowering recruiters’ pay according to how many students they brought into the college. (SFGate) This was a concern because it could convince students to attend the college even if it wasn’t in their best interests financially. (Huffington Post) I find that when you work for a company, and you gain loyalty and like the company you work for, these types of things can be very upsetting to work through and affect the work environment. Even events like my hometown going bankrupt and some of the health/safety issues in the cafeteria at my alma mater were things that hit close to home even though I was no longer there.

It seems to me that I’ve been guided toward where I am. I have two good jobs, with which I can pay my mountain of bills, put gas in my car, and even go for things I want and frivolous foodie excursions, as well as try to save as much money as possible. I am truly blessed, truly lucky, and looking back on these situations, am amazed at how life works. Even though each of those jobs could have been good, they weren’t right for me. And that is fine with me.

So...what do you think?

