Proud to be Generation Y

Since I was born in 1989, it’s safe to say that I am a part of Generation Y, the current generation of people who have graduated from college and are becoming “full-time” adults. We are the generation that’s been different from the previous ones: unable to get a job after college, staying in our parents’ houses for longer periods because we lack the income to pay for our own house, car, groceries, much less our mounds of student loan debt. However, I’m proud to say that I’m part of Generation Y. Here’s a couple of reasons why.

1. We don’t fear technology.

The first computer I remember having in our household was an old tan computer that ran on MS-DOS, and only responded to simple commands. It came with a printer that had the holes on the sides you had to rip off at the perforation. I wrote short, five-year old appropriate stories on that computer and printed each one because I couldn’t save it.

In short, I was introduced to technology when I was pretty young. In my earlier years, I remember learning Microsoft Word because my mom taught me about it while she was taking computer classes at the local community college. Later, when I got my first desktop computer, I learned quickly and just poked at things to find out how they worked.

It amazes me how people my age are not afraid that they are going to “mess up” technology. They experiment, explore, try different things until something works. Or if all else fails, or they have nowhere to start, they Google it. I’ve learned skills that I’m going to need throughout my career such as basic HTML, Internet troubleshooting, the ins and outs of different programs, etc. And how did I learn this? Simply by using the Internet, even outlets like MySpace and LiveJournal, and later WordPress, Twitter, Facebook. I surprise myself that I can take those basics I learned and use them to edit a webpage’s HTML and produce a good product.

2. We are more tolerant, diverse, and are able to see both sides of the situation.

While I know this is not by any means always true, it seems that my generation as a whole tends to fit this dynamic. We are living in a world now that brings this huge space that we call the Earth closer to home, and people who are different are not so scary anymore. Although a lot of this has to do with who raised us and how, we stand up for each others’ rights, whether they be for marriage, women’s rights, or our opportunities we’re supposed to have in America. However, we also try to see both sides of the situation, rather than blindly following one viewpoint, leader, or idea.

My generation is one of the most culturally/ethnically diverse ones to date. We have more mixed race people within our midst (like me!) and 91% of us believe in interracial dating/marriage. 

3. We overcome the obstacles in our path.

As I stated earlier, my generation is the one that has been set back as far as financial stability and independence goes. Most of us have had to move back in with our parents after college, often for more than a year. Employers refuse us jobs either for our lack of experience or overabundance of it. We are saddled with student loan debt that we accumulated receiving the education that alluded to soaring careers and success rather than working retail or food service or days spent canvassing our cities in search of a job.

More and more people of us are finding ways around and over these obstacles. We push for what we want, we network, we volunteer, we create new things and new concepts, we start our own businesses, we work more than one part-time job to make ends meet, we freelance. We survive. We make it. And we continue pushing forward toward our goals.

I’m pretty proud of being part of Generation Y. Are you a part of my generation? If so, are you proud?

6 thoughts on “Proud to be Generation Y

  1. samfromstockton199 says:

    Love the aricle , as a late bloom \”Gen Xer\”, my generation got a lot of flack for being lazy and stuck on the computer all day, having no ambitions in life beyond the next latte or cup of expresso, i\’m half ways joking only. A lot of articles have coined individuals born past 1981 as ”Millenials” because they became into adulthood past the old millenium of 2000. Good article, keep inspiring your generation and beyond.

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      Haha, it seems we still get flack for being “addicted to the internet” and information overloaded. What I don’t think most people understand is we seem to be capable of things that earlier generations weren’t due to technology. Maybe it doesn’t seem like I’m as focused on work, but even if I’m doing more than one thing at once I can manage to complete them all in a timely manner and efficiently/accurately. It’s interesting to see the shift in productivity, etc.

      And now I go off on a tangent. Thanks for reading! Is your book up on Kindle yet?

      Like

  2. OneWeekToCrazy says:

    I agree! Being part of this generation is something to be proud of…as long as we keep working hard! I sometimes feel like people in our generation are so focused on themselves that they don’t see the value in helping the world for the purpose of the greater good. I’m interested to see what will come of all of us! Cheers to you!

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      It’s funny, because in some ways we are very unselfish, and in others we are. I don’t think that they don’t see the value necessarily, as much as they are apathetic. Sometimes it seems like we can’t change the world as much as we can find ways to get around it, so to speak. Which in some situations, works excellently. Thanks for coming and reading! I’m glad you liked it 🙂

      Like

  3. littletash says:

    It’s so refreshing to read something positive about our generation. You’re absolutely right and I bet there are loads more reasons for us to be proud, but all you usually hear is how much better it was for our parents. Next time I’m feeling a bit glum about my bank balance I’ll try to remember this post an count my blessings 🙂

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      Thank you! I feel that a lot of people don’t empathize with our situation and call us lazy or to just “buck up” and take it, basically. It’s not our fault that the times are the way they are in our adulthood, and just because we’ve had to work around the hardships doesn’t mean we’re failing as a generation. Thanks for coming by and reading 🙂

      Like

So...what do you think?

