Moving Forward

I know in the last post I wrote about the setbacks I experienced while moving up to Napa Valley to start my new job. Time to look at the positive side. I am an optimistic person, after all. First of all, I’m going to start with the view outside of my office at my new full-time job. Ready?

Just to be clear, this is totally Instagrammed. But seriously. Who wouldn’t want that view? I know I like it. 🙂

Okay, now that we’ve got that out of the way, on to the really positive things that have happened over the past two weeks that have been helping me get toward this road to personal success and ultimately, being self-sufficient.

I’d been searching in vain for a place to live in Angwin for a couple of weeks since I had put in my two-week notice at JCPenney. Every apartment I looked at was too much money, or was such a hole in the wall place for the amount being charged it wasn’t worth it. Let’s just say I saw an apartment with no bathroom door, no bathroom sink, and the heater for the place was a space heater plugged into the wall. The landlord went on and on about the insulation and Josh, his mom and I looked at each other and said “NO WAY.”

I was starting to think it was going to be a harder search than I thought, and that if I wanted a halfway decent place I was going to have to break the bank or find a roommate, neither of which I wanted to do. However, it seemed just in time that one of the members from Josh’s parents’ church told his mom that she had an apartment to rent. It wasn’t available until July, but that I could come and see it if I would like to rent it.

Now, this place is nice. It’s a studio apartment that’s attached to her house, but is cut off from the rest of it. It has a big, airy bedroom, a small, clean bathroom, a huge closet (I’m already imagining my neat lines of shoes instead of having to pile them on top of each other) and a small kitchenette which is only missing a stove. I was briefly disappointed at the thought of not having a stove. I’ve been spending months dreaming of the recipes I’ve divulged from Gojee.com and my Dean and Deluca cookbook. But after actually visiting the apartment, I realized it was a supremely good deal, especially for the price, at $600/mo. with a $300 deposit.

Let’s take you back to the hole in the wall place. You know, the one with no bathroom door or sink? And technically no heater? $695 a month, plus utilities, and a $750 deposit. Which one would you choose?

I bet you’ve already guessed which one I chose.

Secondly, ever since I began planning for and thinking of moving out, I knew I needed to replace my dresser. My mom and I went to IKEA to shop for one a few years ago after we got rid of my bed with the dresser under it, and found a tall dresser with a mirror on top. Mostly, I liked the mirror on top where I could keep my plethora of earrings, and decided on it a little rashly despite my misgivings about the size of the drawers. Here we are five years later, and I knew I wanted something more like a dressing table. We began searching Superior Thrift and other secondhand stores for something, but had no luck.

I moved some of my belongings up to Angwin Sunday the 3rd. That evening, Josh’s parents went on a walk, and his mom came back to let me know that a neighbor was doing some spring cleaning and were trying to give away an old dresser of theirs. We hopped in the car and drove down to see it. When I first saw it, I was impressed. It was mostly real wood, with old-fashioned carvings on the drawers and on the edges, as well as an attachable mirror with the same carvings on it. I knew that I wanted it, all it needed was a bit of TLC to get it looking nice again. We managed to load it into the car and get it back to the house, and Josh was the awesome boyfriend that he is and got it set up in my room for me. I was happy and thankful that the family was willing to give me the dresser, as it was in good shape and had obviously been cared for.

I know it’s simply a start, but it’s amazing how things drop into your lap. I’m blessed and lucky to have amazing friends and family that are supportive and willing to help, even when I don’t want to ask for it.

3 thoughts on “Moving Forward

  1. Tawny says:

    Gosh I’m jealous of that view! I’m glad that things are working out for you, and I hope that your car is fixed soon!

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      My car is fixed! Got the phone call last night and my mom drove it up to me this morning. I love the view…it feels like this entire valley is like that. 😀

      Like

So...what do you think?

