Motivation. Determination. Drive.

There’s probably something you should know about me when it comes to motivation.

It’s kind of random.

I have an incredible amount of determination when I really want something done. There’s pretty much no stopping me in that case. Examples include random amounts of heavy-lifting in my room, working my butt off in college to buy my Civic, and getting a good grade in my freshman psychology class. (Those were intense quiz times with my psych book).

When I don’t want to do something, it’s a bit different.

This applies less when it comes to a work environment, because I do have an excellent work ethic that I’m proud of, and I try to do a good job even if I hate every minute of it, and I follow the rules, etc. But when it comes to my personal life or goals, I am trying to figure out how to tap into that bull-headed, stubborn determination that I have but can’t always seem to find.

I need that determination when I’m trying to pursue that photography business, or that best-selling novel, or that fabulous dream job I keep getting rejected for. I need it to get up at a time that gives me more of a regular sleep schedule. I need it to put simple things in my life back to normalcy. I need it to breeze through the stack of books on my desk.

Honestly, I need it every day. I’m trying to tap into that drive and floor it, and little by little, I am finding it. In the meantime, I’ll continue reading about motivation. Reading tends to do the trick. 🙂

In case anyone is interested, one of the bloggers I follow has a great blog about “tough motivation” that I have been reading and I think has helped at least a little. Check it out! http://toughmotivation.wordpress.com/

So...what do you think?

