Ideas Come From the Strangest Places.

I wasn’t expecting to finish my first novel too soon.

I wasn’t exactly expecting to get another idea for one so soon, either.

I was sleeping blissfully one night a few weeks ago when I had a vivid, timeline-driven, action-packed dream. Usually, I don’t remember my dreams unless I’ve had a headache and am medicated with Tylenol P.M., but this one I remembered.

In the morning when I woke up and tried to keep all the pieces together, it suddenly struck me that it would be a fantastic novel idea. Within minutes, it turned from the shadowy fragments of a dream into a chock full of ideas to flesh out the novel. Tonight, I finally began writing down my characterization, timeframe, and some place details in my Moleskine while riding to Five Guys for dinner.

First of all, it was a dream, and it will soon turn into something plausible and tangible. And secondly, I haven’t even finished my first novel yet!

No worries, I’m taking advantage anyway.

Next time you have a dream, weird thought, or sudden lightbulb–no matter how strange it sounds–write it, direct it, make it a reality. I’m glad I’m doing so with mine. There’s no telling how it’s going to end up, but I’ve got high hopes for its completion and future success.

So...what do you think?

