Sales is Scary, and it’s Not Just Me.

While scrolling through Social Media Jobs on Facebook, my newest go-to for job searching, I run across a posting for a social media marketing representative. The job promised good training, my own schedule, great benefits, bonuses, and pay according to how many clients you sold to.

I read through the job description, decided it didn’t sound like a job for me, and put it aside, applying for community manager positions and more writing-focused jobs.

A few weeks later, however, the posting showed up again, this time mentioning there were a few positions left and to apply now to be considered. Although I had considered it a better position for a person like Josh rather than a person like me, I sent a resume and cover email to the contact within the company.

I quickly received an email response, to my surprise. It said that they had taken a look at my LinkedIn profile and my resume, and would like to move forward. They specified that I would be the only person in my area currently, and if everything worked out well I would be the district manager very soon. This all sounded promising, if not a little too good to be true. The founder told me he’d like to do a Skype interview, so I added him on Skype and messaged him the next day.

The interview turned out to feel like less of an interview an more of a lax training session, as if I already had the job. A few things didn’t sit well with me, such as the fact that the founder was very comfortable and almost unprofessional in his talks with me, and his schedule was pretty off the norm–he’d contact me at 2 a.m. when he’d be working on projects, and I felt uncomfortable speaking with someone professionally on Skype when I was already in my pajamas and snuggled under my flowered comforter. I later learned that all of the work done for the company–the consulting, the social media, the web development–was done by two guys a few states away from me, and I was expected not to tell clients where the work was being done. It was obvious that they knew what they were doing, and obviously worked well with their clients. They had a high retention rate and their clients stayed happy. They took 15-hour days to get their work done. However, I already felt uncomfortable with the idea of working on sales where I didn’t have a solid product to show, and I am already not much of a salesperson as it is.

I knew that I had to decline the job.

I emailed the founder again, letting him know that I felt the job wasn’t for me. He replied quickly, stating that it was okay and that he knew the job wasn’t for everyone. Although I felt that the job could be good for someone with that kind of drive and sales know-how, I knew that declining the job was the best option for me.

So...what do you think?

