“Personal Success” The First Chapter.

As some of you may have noticed, I recently changed the title of this blog to “The Road to Personal Success.” I’m feeling that a lot of what I’ve written so far and what I will want to write in the future will point toward this metaphorical road and what personal success actually means.

Right now, personal success simply means that I’ll be happy. I want to find a good job, get married, have my own place, be out on my own. I’d like to work for a public relations firm, a publishing house, or anywhere that’ll sit me down with a keyboard and tell me to start typing. However, I’d like to also write novels, and start my own photography business, with or without a studio.

So at what point will I have achieved personal success? And what do I need to do to get there?

Obviously, I’m already working as much as possible on the first one: to find a good job. I don’t have to tell you how many applications and resumes I’ve sent out, how many cover letters I’ve written and revised, or how many temp agencies I’ve contacted. You already know, it’s in this blog. Hopefully something will happen soon, so I can stop working retail. I’m glad I tried it, but it’s not for me.

Secondly, I want to write novels. This is the one that will take a lot of personal effort, which is to keep working and writing something after I’ve started it. This has been my biggest problem with writing all of my life–finishing. This morning, when I woke up, I decided I would read over the entirety of my novel, all 22,000 words of it. I rather enjoyed it. Of course I spotted typos, things that should be reworded, and plot holes that I need to fix. But overall, I am amazed at what I wrote. It reads like a real book, and I half-forgot that I was reading my own book and not something I’d bought from the Kindle store (although that would have been one of the cheap books from lesser known authors, it’s still a start). My first goal is to go back and fix the plot holes so that the rest of the story can flow through smoothly. After those are fixed, I can continue the story and not edit again until it is completed, however many words or pages that ends up being. If I finish, I will have overcome one of my biggest lifelong challenges–and that will be exhilarating.

Third, I want to start a photography business. This will take more effort in the sense that I will have to deal with as much rejection as with my job-searching (and possibly with my novel-writing, with publishing pitches). I’ll have to keep taking photos, learning about photography, and rediscovering my passion for it no matter what obstacles stand in my way. I’ll have to dust off my Rebel, give it a good cleaning, and drive somewhere new. I’ll have to start working on business materials and learning how to advertise my services, when I actually do want to do this.

Looking at all of these, I know it’ll be a lot of work. However, I feel that I will enjoy it because it is putting me toward what I want. I don’t want a life stuck in one place, doing one particular thing. I want to combine everything I’m interested in and love into a life that’s successful, and more importantly, fulfilling. Maybe one day I’ll find something that I want to use my other interests for, such as psychology and my constant fascination with communication theory. I will find what will fulfill me, I just have to keep pushing toward it, and that’s the hard work that’s going to have to start. And I’m starting right now.

So...what do you think?

