An Opportunity Squandered

I finally decided that I needed to actually make an Indeed.com account so I could save jobs to apply for later rather than emailing them to myself on Gmail and clogging up my inbox, and post my resume on the site for employers to view. I figured it couldn’t hurt.

That was when I ran across a blogger job for a start-up in Silicon Valley called Chatterfly.

From the research I’ve done on it, Chatterfly functions somewhat like Foursquare, but has more rewards for its use and gives extra rewards for frequenting local businesses. They were looking for someone to use the app at businesses, interview the owner and maybe some of the patrons, take photos, and put it all together in a finished blog, at about fifteen blogs a week. I’d be using my writing skills, photography skills, and even some of my interview skills that I learned as a journalism student. I wrote a cover letter and sent my resume in an email, not exactly expecting a timely answer. It was at this point that I also posted my resume to Indeed.com. I browsed LinkedIn and followed Chatterfly, then realized that the CEO had a connection in common with me, which was my brother, who’s done a lot of work in the Bay Area. I debated whether to ask for an introduction through LinkedIn or to wait until I saw him next to ask about the connection, but it ended up that I didn’t really need to do either.

A couple of days later, I received an email from an SEO marketing representative from Chatterfly. He explained what the blogger job entailed, and asked for a writing sample in the form of a guest blog. I quickly replied telling him that I would be happy to, but that I live a few hours away from the Peninsula, but I would still be able to do the guest blog here if the app applied here, or to travel up there for a day in order to write the blog. He asked if I had any other published blogging that he could look at and I referred him to this blog. He said that he needed to try to figure something out, and that he would get back to me at the end of that day or first thing in the morning.

It was 7:00 the next evening by the time I wrote him another email, asking him if he had figured something out yet. It was well past when he said he would get back to me, and I was anxious to find out if I even had a shot at this job, or even the guest blog.

The next morning, I received an email letting me know that he “hadn’t forgotten me” and that he would get back to me that day. I was at the post office sending off an old textbook I had sold on my way up to Josh’s for his birthday, so kept a close eye on my phone for the rest of the day.

I received nothing.

A few days ago, I clicked on Chatterfly’s LinkedIn page. It stated that Chatterfly had hired a new blogger. I was disappointed and confused that a company who had actively sent me an email so quickly after I had applied would not email me back at least to let me know that things weren’t going to work out. Even now, I would still be happy to write the guest blog: it would give me some experience and a piece to point other employers toward. It was sad though to see such a great opportunity for me squandered.

7 thoughts on “An Opportunity Squandered

  1. jennifernon says:

    Unfortunately quite a number of employers – whether they’re small or large, startup or established, local or MNC – lack the engagement post-recruitment. I’ve had quite a number of similar experiences where it felt like things were progressing quite well then I would hear nothing at all from them. I hear you, it would be great to hear back even if it’s negative news – at least you don’t hang around waiting and hoping.

    I wrote a post weeks ago where I said that companies should think of potential employees as customers. They are not selling their products/services to these people but rather selling the company itself as the best place to work for. Sadly, a lot of companies still don’t get it at this point – or simply don’t care because with the current situation, supply (number of people looking for work) seems to far exceed demand (number of jobs available).

    Like

    • Samantha says:

      It’s true, and quite sad. When the economy finally does start to look up, companies may have a much harder time finding people that they thought were great but ignored in the past, and by that time, those people will have found something else that is possibly better.

      Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

So...what do you think?

