Great Jobs and Brilliant Cover Letters, Ahoy!

It’s a pretty great feeling to be surfing Indeed.com or Craigslist and come across a job that sounds so fabulous you immediately apply for it, regardless of whether the requirements say you’re qualified or not.

I had a few of those reactions to job postings recently.

One of them was Harper Collins Publishing. I’ve always toyed with the idea of publishing for a career, because of anything that I do the most and do well at, it’s reading. I read constantly, anything I can get my hands on. Right now, since I have so much time on my hands, I frequently run out of things to read, especially if I’m not currently in the middle of a formal book. I’ve been reading since I was three, was reading at freshman in college level by second grade, and well…enough said.

The thought of reading for a living — even with the necessary editing and criticism needed–makes me giddy.

I know I’m a good worker, and I know I’m good at what I do. However, bringing that across in writing in a way that doesn’t make me sound like I’m shamelessly bragging is difficult for me. When I began writing the cover letter for Harper Collins, however, the words came easily, and I tried to show them that my experience actually mattered. I wanted this job:

Throughout my life, I have had the opportunity to do a lot of editing for friends and for work. Most recently, I was a teacher’s assistant for the communication department chair at my college, edited articles for all three college publications my senior year (Funnybook, yearbook, and the newspaper) as well as editing a friend’s thesis and being consulted for creative advice from friends who are up and coming graphic designers.

Sadly, I have still not heard back anything from Harper Collins. I am checking back to see if they have any other positions open.

Another was San Francisco Weekly, which is an online periodical based, obviously, in San Francisco. They were looking for a copy editor, and didn’t mention much about needing a lot of experience. I do have a lot of experience copy editing, and jumped into my cover letter with both feet.

 I am a fast learner, pay close attention to detail, and am a hard worker…Even if I did not have the skills that you are looking for in this position, I would learn them within a week or two on the job. Working for SF Weekly as a copy editor would be a mutually beneficial position for both me and the publication itself. I often catch mistakes missed in newspapers, magazines, and advertisements, and think, “I wish I was their copy editor, because I would have found that mistake before it went to press.” Although no one is perfect, I will make sure to minimize to none mistakes in copy and make sure that SF Weekly looks even more professional and put-together than it already does.”

Again, SF Weekly? No response. It’s quite sad.

So here I am, continuing to plug away at job applications, editing my resume, and cover letters galore. When it’s these types of jobs that I don’t hear from at all, it hurts. It gives me the visual image of a hiring manager glancing at my email and deleting it on receipt. I know this probably doesn’t actually happen, but it seems like it sometimes.

The right job will come along soon. It’s just keeping my head up and pushing forward that is hard to do, especially with this deep of disappointment.

So...what do you think?

