It’s Great, But Not Quite For Me.

Monday.

My information session with Enterprise was scheduled at 1:00 p.m. in Modesto.

I put on the freshly purchased interview clothes. My mom had noticed the ones I had bought earlier in the summer had shrunk and now went halfway up my calf when I sat down. Thankfully, she’d bought these new ones that didn’t look like I was preparing for a flood. I also braced myself for riding for thirty minutes in my car with the windows down just enough not to look completely windblown when I got there, but enough to not be horrendously sweaty by the time I got there.

Just roll down the windows, and drive fast.

I got to Modesto a half an hour early, and missed my turn for the Enterprise building, so decided to stop at Taco Bell and grab something to eat. I looked around the restaurant while waiting in line, wondering if any of these people were also attending the information session. I ate quickly while reading from my iPad, swished some of my soda in my mouth to combat quesadilla breath, then drove a couple of buildings down to Enterprise.

When I walked in, there were five or six people sitting in chairs lined up against the wall, one holding a clipboard. I asked them if they were there for the information session, and they handed me the clipboard so I could sign in. I took it and gave a cursory glance to the schools that the rest of the people there had attended. Most of them had attended CSU Stanislaus, with one person having attended more of a technical school that I had heard a bit about. “Pacific Union College” stuck out like flashing lights to me.

I sat between two of the women waiting. They introduced themselves and we talked a little. The men who were working the desk at the time joked with us and said we should “observe” as future Enterprise employees. Finally, the woman who had emailed all of us inviting us to the session came to bring us to a small office hidden from view.

“I’m sorry we don’t have a conference room,” she said. “There was a meeting today and things got a little hairy, but if  we all get a little friendly this should work!” The ten of us pulled and pushed chairs into the office to fit in a circle around the room. She asked each of us to introduce ourselves, say what school we went to, and what our majors were. Most people were business majors, with a couple of communication majors including myself, and one accounting major who was lightheartedly made fun of throughout the rest of the session. Since it was a small group and everyone was friendly, we laughed and joked around while still managing to complete the business at hand.

I was nervous about answering questions about myself, especially when it came to answering what the worst thing about working for Enterprise would be for me. After looking at the information about it and hearing about it from her, I thought it sounded pretty great. A close-knit work environment, discounts on renting/buying cars, work security, guaranteed promotions, a program to fund buying professional attire, medical/dental/vision benefits, and much more. My only problem was listening to this was the part about sales.

I haven’t done sales at all in my life. I have done public relations and more of the marketing end of things, which is different. Sales is getting up close and personal and “convincing” someone to buy a product. Now, depending on the product, I think I could do it. Say, if I was selling cameras, or oddly, pens. If Pentel wanted me to face-to-face sell their R.S.V.P pens, I would do it. They’re my favorite and the only ones I use. But other than that, it would be difficult and not quite the right fit for my personality type. I even had a hard time selling candy in middle school to fund my science trips.

I thought it was possible that I could do it in the right environment, with the right product, with the right people. But I wasn’t sure. Plus Enterprise wanted people for the long haul, since they only promote from within the company and the only new hires are those at the very bottom: the management trainees.

After the session, I came home and wrote a thank you letter to the woman in charge, thanking her for the information about the company and that it had made me think that it could be more of a long-term option than I had thought previously. Either way, I still had a lot to think about.

About a week and a half later, I received an email from Enterprise, which was identical to the original rejection email I had received. I laughed a little, knowing this time it was real. I knew that even though it had been a great job opportunity and anyone would be lucky to work for them, it just wasn’t quite for me. In the end, that made it okay for me.

So...what do you think?

