Graduated.

I graduated with my bachelor’s degree from Pacific Union College on June 12, 2011.

First, you might ask, “Where is that?”

I know, I know, it’s not one of those big name colleges people like to throw around, like “Stanford” or “UC Berkeley” or “NYU”. It’s in the top percentage of colleges in US World and Report, but still no one has usually heard of it unless you belong to the religion known as the Seventh-day Adventist Church.

Second, what did I get my degree in?

Communication. Don’t laugh and say “That’s easy,” or “What do you even do with that?” Most people ask if I’m going to go into journalism. Which, admittedly, was originally my plan. But seeing as how print media is being murdered by online media, such as social networking and blogs like this one, I figured that wasn’t exactly my best bet. However, with a love of writing and an affinity for photography, both of which don’t give you guaranteed success, communication was the next best thing. I made the right choice, but I still don’t know what I will do with my degree that I’ll enjoy doing for a good portion of my lifetime.

Third, today is August 10, 2011. It has been only two months since I graduated. I have been sending resumes, cover letters, applications, going to information sessions and a couple of interviews, all in hopes of attaining a job before I can start having panic attacks about the $24,000 in debt I owe to Sallie Mae and the government starting in February.

This blog will chronicle the journey of finding what I need and what I want after graduating college. It will chronicle the struggles of finding something that looks professional enough to wear to an interview, attempting to find the perfect wording for a cover letter, stressing about finding a tiny error in a resume after applying for a copy editing job, and being stuck in the tandem between “overqualified” and “underqualified”.

You’ll get to see firsthand, if you don’t already see it every day, how much the economy royally sucks.

Sure, I’m only one of many. And that is exactly the problem.

So...what do you think?

